How To Renew Your New Jersey Drivers License

Do you need to renew your drivers license in New Jersey? We've collected useful and up-to-date information to help save you time when renewing your drivers license. Select from the options below to get started. 

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

Application assistance services can simplify the process for many DMV related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DMV.

3: Via a DMV office

If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DMV office. Varying DMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DMV allows you to make a personal appointment.




Renewing Your New Jersey Drivers License

According to the laws set by the New Jersey DMV, it is critical to renew your driver license as soon as possible after expiration. A failure to renew your license within a reasonable time period can lead to penalties including tickets and additional fees.

Conditions For Renewal New Jersey DMV Driver License
To renew your New Jersey Driver License, you must complete the following:  

  • Visit your local DMV office.
  • Present documents complying with the state’s Six-Point ID Verification System.
  • Present your expiring license.
  • Fill out your application to renew New Jersey Driver License. You may do this up to six months before your license expires.
  • Pay the $24 renewal fee via cash, check or money order

Renewal Notice

Your license is valid for four years. Approximately 90 days prior to expiration, you will receive a renewal notice in the mail, although you may renew your license up to six months prior to expiration.

Expiration

It is illegal to drive with an expired license, and doing so may result in penalties including tickets, citations and additional fees.

If your license has been expired for more that three years, you will be required to apply for a new license upon renewal, which includes re-taking the vision, knowledge and road exams, as well as possibly being given a learner’s permit or provisional license for a short amount of time.

If you will be out of state upon expiration, the New Jersey DMV recommends renewing your license beforehand, and you may do so up to six months prior to expiration.

For a list of related services, see below: